Are templates playable? - OG Myth-Weavers

Notices

Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

Are templates playable?

Are templates playable?

I was newly introduced to D&D 3.5 and I am still learning. This site provides the perfect environment to do so, for which I am grateful. I must say what was strongly repulsing me is the class system which tends to spawn the same exact archetypes every game; and what finally hooked me up is the templates and endless possibilities of playing unexpected monsters and stuff. However I am harshly realizing that the LA is a heavy burden which render the whole thing mostly unplayable, more often than not. It seems there's a general consensus on that, and really few tricks to mitigate the drawback.

What's your take on this? any personal experience? some tips to share? maybe a whole party with the exact same LA?

That's a discussion on the playability of templates, feel free to contribute!

It depends on the template, and the class you are playing. The Feral Template is a god-send to melee characters, and is probably the second best 1 LA you can spend. Mineral Warrior is arguably the best, competing with Feral.

Casters should avoid LA like the plague. Unless you have LA buyoff, then you can shoot for 1 or two

Templates work wonderfully if the entire party is templated to similar degrees (and assuming that the DM can adjust the encounters to accommodate the actual power level of the party, and not what their supposed ecl would suggest)
the problems crop up when the party is composed of a mix of power levels (templates being just one means to achieve that imbalance)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluffles View Post
...Unless you have LA buyoff, then you can shoot for 1 or two
Remember how well LA buyoff turned out for you in that level 18-20 game?

Quote: