4th Edition Encounter Ideas/Advice - OG Myth-Weavers

Notices

GM Workshop

A community-created and maintained place for Game Masters of all systems to bounce ideas around. It's a place for inspiration and sharing tips.

4th Edition Encounter Ideas/Advice

4th Edition Encounter Ideas/Advice

I am a fairly new GM to 4th edition. I am an expert at pathfinder and 3.5, these systems are incredibly different to say the least.

My players are level 3, and currently in a dungeon. They just defeated a boss type guy who had the sole purpose of killing off a player that wanted to make a different character. (I used the GM cheat code to get the job done)

The problem I am running into, is that if I use the allowance I am allotted according to the DMG they breeze through my encounters, while if I ramp it up a bit they level up too fast. Any ideas on how to negate this?

I also need some good... "trap room" ideas. Something where the dungeon itself is the encounter, and players need to work together or die. The traps in the DnD insider don't seem to fit what I am looking for.

Adding extra minions to your encounters, and not identifying minions as minions until the players discover this in the course of play, might add some punch to the encounters without overly influencing the XP gain.

In PbP games, I tend to advance my 4e groups quickly. Usually after 3 substantive battles, they go up a level. I had alternate ways of calculating XP, though, until I did away with it altogether.

4E is horrendously balanced in the player's favor. I have not yet found a great solution for this, but I have toyed with altering healing to give them less, using the environment more, and using stronger monsters. Maybe you could use monsters of higher levels but if you are worried about them leveling too fast, give them XP for monsters of their level. Don't increase the monster AC though. And make sure you are using the corrected monster damage. Monsters should do far more than they say in MM 1.