Pathfinder vs D&D 3.5 - OG Myth-Weavers

Notices

Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

Pathfinder vs D&D 3.5

Pathfinder vs D&D 3.5

Hello, I'm kind of new to both this site and to role playing in general.

I have been playing 3.5, but I keep hearing about Pathfinder and it sounds interesting, but I just don't have a lot information about it or a clue about where to get it, when I searched Google, it just kept showing me cars. >.>

The big reason I'm interested in it, is that I have heard that it is similar to 3.5 but more balanced, I was wondering about how that was accomplished.

If anyone could tell me some of the major differences or point me in the right direction to where I could gather the information myself I would be very grateful.

Edit: I wanted to let everyone know that I have been reading over the SRD ever since Sorsha posted it (thank you again) and have decided to run a game with some of my friends, irl.

To me it looks simpler, but not oversimplified, which is exactly what I was looking for. The classes look like they all have a good bit of variability, but not to the point where they all feel the same. And when I saw how combat maneuvers work, I actually almost squealed from excitement. They, for whatever reason, are one of the hardest things for me to remember the how their mechanics work in 3.5e.

The Pathfinder SRD http://www.d20pfsrd.com/ contains the majority of the Pathfinder rules, including third party stuff.

Have a read and see what you think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShepPuffingtun View Post
The big reason I'm interested in it, is that I have heard that it is similar to 3.5 but more balanced, I was wondering about how that was accomplished.

If anyone could tell me some of the major differences or point me in the right direction to where I could gather the information myself I would be very grateful.
Fighters have class features, but are more-or-less the same.