hmmmm writing - OG Myth-Weavers

Notices

Writers' Guild

A community for writers of all genres to hone our craft, with monthly exercises, challenges, and collaborative writing. Open to anyone who enjoys writing!

hmmmm writing

hmmmm writing

Well I'm a bad writer (thats how i feel and how) but i tied to write a short story of sorts.

It's supposed to be a kind of back story/character primer but none the less here it is.

Sheeting rain, moonless night, and huddled forms around hearths and fires.. A group of forms plays cat and mouse games across the muddy city streets...

One form flees and the others pursue always at a distance, almost herding, nipping at their queries heels pushing the lone sad creature to the very brink...

One flash of lightning and another, the young fox fleeing from the hounds face looks like one belonging to a person that would have never chosen this outcome for their day... soft features and plum cheeks from hot rich meals ever day. His clothes though torn, dirty and plastered wet to his body would not have been out of place in most royal courts.

after turning around a corner at no street in particular the young man finds himself suddenly alone, the pursuit gone and nothing but empty courtyard open in all directions.

the man comes to rest near a tall street light that flickers nervously in the pouring rain.

"Rahhhhhh Ha ha ha ha ha "a voice low and rumbling as an old angry mountain thunders across the courtyard

the well dressed man breaks into a sprint in a direction that looks like freedom... and in his haste his ankle falls out from underneath him landing him uncermoniously on his back.the nervous look on his face transforming to one of pain and terror .. the world seems to stand still and the moments move by like the slow inevitable slid of butter on a hot plate and suddenly the world snaps back into motion as the street lamp overhead flicker nearly out.