Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

: Pathfinder Sorcerer.

Pathfinder Sorcerer.

Ok, I'm new to pathfinder. I've played some 3.0 and 3.5, but I never ran much in the way of Arcane casters.

Were starting at level 1, 25 point buy stat generation, and it's a Kingmaker campaign.

I'm leaning toward Fey bloodline so I can get Point Blank Shot, Precise Shot, and later on Improved Initiative as bones feats, and thus have the ability to participate in combat with a crossbow and not be a menace to my own party when were at low levels and I'm short on spell variety and spells per day. That said, if it's a trap, someone please tell me now.

Ok, thanks in advance, look forward to getting some help!

Edit: Ok, according to the games GM, the recommended bloodlines are Draconic, Destined, Elemental, and Fey. I've also been looking at Starsoul and Stormborn.

Any thoughts on these?

Also, advice on spells known, stat distribution, and feats, skills and traits is appreciated. Please keep in mind how ever all I have to work with is the SRD and the kingmaker guide PDF.

It's kind of a trap. Not the Fey bloodline, but the idea of focusing on your crossbow at all.

Fey bloodline is fantastic, and I encourage you to stick with that. Entangle, Hideous Laughter and Deep Slumber are all really nice spells, especially at the levels you get them, and almost every one of the abilities you get are fantastically useful (laughing touch is kinda nice early on, greater invisibility is good, at will spell resistance rerolls, all pretty boss).

But past level 5 or so, you should be able to say goodbye to your crossbow for good. As a sorcerer, your biggest asset is the ability to throw around tons of spells per day, so if you play smart and choose the right spells you'll never be reduced to that crappy 1d6/1d8 per round.