Notices

Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

Pathfinder: Summoner build recommendations?

Summoner build recommendations?

I've recently started a Summoner character at first level in a Golarian campaign. While the archetypes were nice none of them were what I particularly wanted so I went for a vanilla Summoner.

I'm focusing mainly on his eidolon as a frontline combatant and toward that goal I've invested in the Resilient Eidolon and Extra Evolution feats (human). For RP purposes the eidolon is his closest friend and guardian so I've created a description and personality for it (basically a social little wingless dragon).

Can't say I have a lot of experience optimizing this kind of character in Pathfinder though. Any recommendations for future levels? I don't think the game is going to go heavily into power-gaming so a pure combat build isn't necessary.

My big beef with the Eidolon is that it blocks your best class feature: the summon monster SLA.
With a front-line killer, the SLA becomes only a backup for when your Eidolon drops, so if you plan to go that route, don't waste any feats on the SLA. Look at the teamwork feats if you are mixing it up in melee with your Eidolon.
...I really don't know what else to tell you.

If you regret your decision (Its not too late!), consider using the Eidolon as a skill-monkey and focusing on your SLA.
The ability to take the skilled evolution with multiple skills will make your eidolon a skill-master almost without par for the first 6-8 levels. Taking the Spell Focus(conj), Augment Summons, and finally Superior Summoning will keep you relevant in combat. In fact, expect the fighter to resent your bottomless pool of expendable hp and the wizard to curse you for your spellcasting stamina! Go forth and rule the world!

While technically the better build, I don't really like dropping my concept for something just because it works better.