Notices

Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

Question about item creation

Question about item creation

Hey there,

I had a question in D&D 3.5 regarding making items. I had this concept for a particular weapon which, while made of cold iron, could be sheathed in silver when necessary. Basically, the issue that came up was that I wanted a weapon useful against a wide range of evil outsiders, rather than just demons or just devils. I know silversheen can do it as a one-shot, but is there a possibility of making such an item? What would be the cost?

I admit I am not very good at making magical items, so if anyone could help me with this I would be exceedingly grateful.

I don't think so, it specifically says in the description of alchemical silver that it cant be used with non-standard metals, so its silversheen or take something like the magical effect Bane for the one you aren't already breaking to add extra damage & get around it that way.

As to conditional special materials I am almost 100% sure that is not allowed, as with the exception of Alchemical Silver, the whole relevant part of the weapon or armour (such as an adamantine arrow head, or a mithral greatsword) has to be made of the substance, & with alchemical silver, it is bonded to the metal in a way that it can't be separated, the fact that it isn't permanently bonded is why silver sheen wears off the weapon.

Care to offer some clarification to that Sith? Like source, effect, etc?

Underdark Campaign Setting. Essentially, change a metal weapon into any other kind of metal. Magic Item Compendium updates it to be only the specific DMG metals, I think.