Worldly Talk

Civil discussion and debate on real world events and issues.

Everything you ever want to know about the Netherlands..

Everything you ever want to know about the Netherlands..

Welcome!

Have you ever been curious about that tiny, intriguing country called the Netherlands, or Holland for some?
Ever wanted to know what the deal is with those crazy Dutchies and their water?
Been asking yourself for ages if wooden clogs are really that comfortable?
Do you plan to travel to the Netherlands?

If so, you have come to the right place, as a true, crazy, Dutchie I can be of service!

Ask me questions, discuss Dutch things with each other, shudder by the thought of traditional Dutch food, or simply laugh about those crazy Dutchies.

Who am I?
Hello, I'm Michel Everts, almost 26 years old. I live in the beautifull Dutch city of Zwolle. With 120k inhabitants Its a midsized city for Dutch standards, its placed at #20. I work as a full time software developer, and live in a small apartment with my two cats. I travel to work by bike everyday, using the modern cycle infrastructure we have over here.

This topic is placed here because I also want to encourage serious discussion about Dutch issues. I don't think that opening topics for Dutch issues warrants separate topics though. Thats why I placed this topic in this forum. This is a serious topic, even when people will ask funny things, or discuss funny things.

My father being in the U.S. Army, I had the opportunity to spend several formative years in the Netherlands (3 -5 years old) and I have wonderful memories there. We lived in a rented house across from a horse pasture down the road from an actual Cobbler's shop. All my friends were dutch and I couldn't understand why so many people there thought America was so cool (this being the late '70s). I really hated coming back to the U.S. I couldn't understand why Sinterklaas wouldn't visit us anymore and why all the TV was only in English instead of Dutch or Belgian.