Notices

GM Workshop

A community-created and maintained place for Game Masters of all systems to bounce ideas around. It's a place for inspiration and sharing tips.

Tips and Criticisms to become a better DM (I apologize I know this is long)

Tips and Criticisms to become a better DM (I apologize I know this is long)

Hi there everybody so I come to you today to get some friendly advice and opinions on how to become a better DM for my players. I have been DMing for around 4 years now and DM for 2 groups on the first group (changing from size 6 to 8 to 6 to 10 then to 4 and then to 5 *4 consistent players that have been with since the beginning) almost consistently every Friday night for about 3 years now and the second group on and off for 4 years 5 players who are always consistent (on and off because I am in college and these guys are from my hometown which I am at less than about an 1/4 of the year).

So I kind of feel it is neccessary to say what kind of campaigns I have done in the past so I'll start with what I gave group 1 and then what I gave group 2 and how long each of these campaigns lasted. To group 1 we had a basic campaign- lasted 3 months and they never left the city ended before they tried to solve the major plot points; a fantasy adventure campaign semi-military in nature- lasted 1 year and it took 2 months almost always to get to the next city ended before it came to a real end; an oriental campaign- lasted 6 months ended with epic death scenes where they were killed off in ways they just couldn't find unsatisfying as an end to the great lives and adventures their characters had built; a pirate/adventurer/airship campaign- lasted 1 year fell apart because of out of game drama and failure to move forward in the plot after a 8 months had passed. Currently we are running a celtic/nordic campaign that has been going for around 6 months now.