General Discussion

All-purpose section for discussions that donít clearly belong in any of the other categories.

General Opinions on a Sentence

General Opinions on a Sentence

I had a question concerning a sentence (which was part of a short paper I wrote). Please keep in mind that the only critique I want is on the sentence. I will be providing the paragraph for context, but the sentence is the only thing I want an opinion on. Please stick to the sentence.

First off, I wrote the short paper in minutes flat, in a hurry. I know not all of it would make a great English paper. However, I am a good enough writer that I also know its not a piece of worthless trash either.

On that note, I want an opinion. I ask because my Graphic Design teacher said, that part of the sentence in question, doesn't work and I say it does. I question his logic because he is a Graphic Design teacher and not an English teacher; plus I have taken up becoming an Author (in the future) and thus am getting more and more serious about becoming a better writer (sure some pride may be involved on my part; I won't deny it).

Does this sentence/part of the sentence work? Why or why not?

Lastly please keep in mind that since these are opinions I am asking for, I can't hold them up as rock-solid fact. I've learned that everyone has a different opinion on styles of writing. What I'm looking for is perhaps a general consensus or maybe a solid reason (even if it may not be correct according to the rules of English) for why it might or might not work.

Sentence in Question Below (In bold and underline) Section of sentence in question colored red.