Worldly Talk

Civil discussion and debate on real world events and issues.

US Presidential Election Results thread

Finally! I can stop having the sentatorial-wannabes call my house. I swear I'm going to write in mickey mouse.

Oh...you mean the presidential election? Woot! I can stop ignoring facebook when it tells me the world's going to end because either Obama's a Muslim or Romney's a Mormon.

Am kind of sick of elections, mainly senatorial. Elizabeth Warren and Scott Brown must have my house on speed-dial because they call every single night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbender View Post
Interesting that someone with UK in his name seems to be the most anxious .
I'm a amateur
election studier
psephologist.

I'm predicting an Obama win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoycitenega View Post
Oh...you mean the presidential election? Woot! I can stop ignoring facebook when it tells me the world's going to end because either Obama's a Muslim or Romney's a Mormon.
People like that make me laugh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solaris View Post
I'm predicting an Obama win.
As am I. He's ahead in too many swing states for Romney to win, unless the polls blow up big time - which historical precedence says is about 1 in 10. So, basically roll a d10 - Romney needs a natural 1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Hunter UK View Post
As am I. He's ahead in too many swing states for Romney to win, unless the polls blow up big time - which historical precedence says is about 1 in 10. So, basically roll a d10 - Romney needs a natural 1.
Depends on the actual turnout. A lot of the polls use samples of similar to 2008 or better levels of turnout for the Dem's. Frankly I don't think this is accurate as those same polls show greater enthusiasm for R's than D's and that has historically had a huge effect on turnout. They also show Romney winning independents by huge margins, Obama won them by huge in 2008. Undecideds break towards the challenger in the last days of the race.