The Desolation of Nordhelm

Old Jun 20 '09, 8:40am
Plotting...

The Desolation of Nordhelm

The Desolation of Nordhelm - Forum
Iron Heroes
Estimated Members Requested: 5

Greetings and welcome. Some of you may know me from around the site while most of you do not. I have been DMing for approximately six years, both at the game table and on various online sites (such as this fine one). I am always available via PM and AIM and am certainly an "approachable" DM. Now that the introduction is out of the way, let's get this show on the road.

First of all: I do not want you to create a character sheet at all. Instead, I want you to create a person, filled with life, background, and personality. Let me repeat myself:

Do NOT create a character sheet, create a living being!

In regards to this game:
This will be a Viking campaign with elements of horror, as such, there are certain things you should keep in mind as you apply.

1) To cooperate with me in setting the mood: A player who refuses to allow himself to be swept up in the game, and who will not portray his character as scared or shocked when the situation warrants, destroys the mood not only for himself but for the entire group.
2) To accept that horrific events will happen to them: In a horror campaign, not every ending is a happy one. The PCs will, at times, encounter opponents too powerful and too terrible for them to defeat. They will not always be able to prevent their loved ones from suffering. They won't have as high a survival rate as characters in other campaigns. They should not expect every fight to be winnable and every plotline to end on a positive note.