Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

Fighters

Fighters

Yes, I am a total newb. Don't begrudge me that. But will someone please explain to me why 3.5 fighters are so hated? And is there any way to make them better? And what are the better core alternatives?

Core is a bad idea. It's very biased towards casters, and your best bet is just to suck it up and play a caster. Or non-core.

Fighters suck because of...
  • Multiple Attribute Dependency - You need str, dex, con at decent levels & int certainly helps some (tumble, balance and so on.)
  • Magic Item Dependency - You need to spend a lot on keeping your weapons (note: multiple weapons, since not all creatures are vulnerable to the same metals, damage types or ranges) & armor up to date. The money you spend on such is money you can't spend on covering your weaknesses.
  • Prestige Class Dependency - Fighters don't give enough options from level 1-20 on their own. Most fighter builds that can actually be called decent have very little actual fighter in them.
  • Lack of options - You can't prepare your fighters against every circumstance, so you'll find that in many combats, the fighter just can't contribute anything significant.
  • Just do damage - Fighters only deal damage. Sadly, fights are better won by "save or die", "save or lose" and "save or suck" spells. Fighters are very vulnerable to such.
  • Scale badly - Fighters don't gain damage at the same rate that enemies gain HP. By the later levels, fighters can't deal significant enough damage to influence fights. At the same time, they (for all their AC and larger HD) die really fast when attempting to do what they're supposed to do.

Casters do not face these difficulties. Core games, especially those with limited access to magic items, simply don't give the fighter anything near what it requires to be successful in the mid-late game.