The Lost Academy of Khazarum

Old Oct 4 '09, 11:51pm
Telekinetic Brain-in-a-jar

The Lost Academy of Khazarum - Forum
Dungeons & Dragons 3.5e
Estimated Members Requested: 4

Introduction and a note on tone and styleWelcome everyone, and thank you for coming. The Lost Academy of Khazarum is a campaign I've been putting together for a while, and I believe the time has come to put it into action. I've been playing DnD for about five years now, and have DMed my fair share in that time. I've played a fair bit of PbP, and while it's no replacement for the real thing, it has its own strengths and appeals. Being a lover of language and literature, the opportunities for expressing character and story that PbP offers are absolutely fantastic.

The Lost Academy is heavily narrative based, as befits the medium of PbP. This means that there is a definite plot to the campaign, but does not mean that the players will have no freedom. The beginning will set the character's primary goals, and as the story progresses, the ways of pursuing those goals will expand, and players will have plenty of opportunity to shape the campaign to suit their characters, be it through side quests and exploration, or creative solutions to the problems they face. I will do my best to avoid railroading anyone. Character applications should fit the tone of the adventure, that is, they should be someone who would naturally take part in this adventure.

The game should have a slightly cinematic feel, and I will do my best give rich descriptions, and in some instances, provide visual aids. The game will take place in a series of chapters, beginning with a prologue that will consist of (gasp) almost no dice rolls. Instead, it will lay the foundation of the characters, the plot, and the party dynamic. The action will pick up soon thereafter, don't you worry!