Character Rules

Character Rules
This section contains the house rules that relate specifically to creating and advancing characters. If you have any concerns about these rules, you may post a comment here. This first post will always be updated to contain the latest rules.

Character Creation

Approved Sources
Only official 5E printed publications by the Wizards of the Coast are approved for creating and advancing your characters. Online-only sources like Unearthed Arcana and third-party products are not allowed.

Ability Scores
In creating your character, you can choose to roll the 6x6 Dice Rolls below, and if nothing from it strikes your fancy, you can choose to go with 27-Point Buy.

6x6 Dice Rolls
This is a variation on the 4d6 Drop Lowest (4d6v1) method. Here, you form a 6x6 table, and in each cell of the table, you roll 4d6v1. In this way, you end up with a 6x6 table of possible stats. From this table, you then choose any six (6) numbers that are in a straight line, and those will be the six starting ability scores for your character. This straight line can be vertical, horizontal, or diagonal. You can distribute the six scores among your character's abilities as you see fit.

To form the table, use this code on your character's thread:

All races that are included in the Approved Sources (above) are allowed. However, your choice of race will impact how the game world responds to your character. Some races might have more difficulty in navigating the more civilized territories as they encounter discrimination or, worse, persecution.

+ Primary Races: The traditional races of Humans, Elves and Dwarves are the ruling races in the world of Finhas at present. They have the most and the greatest kingdoms, civilizations or territories in the world.

+ Secondary Races: Races that are derived from or closely resemble the Primary Races are tolerated at worst. These include Gnomes, Halflings, Half-Elves, Half-Orcs, Aasimar, Kalashtar, Goliath, Yuan-Ti Pureblood, and the like.

+ Tertiary Races: These races can face varying degrees of difficulty, depending on the circumstances. They might find acceptance or tolerance in some locales, discrimination or persecution in others. Typically, the Tertiary Races have some monstrous aspect to their appearance like Aarakocra, Bugbears, Dragonborn, Firbolgs, Genasi, Goblins, Hobgobins, Kenku, Kobolds, Lizardfolk, Orcs, Tabaxi, Tieflings, Tritons, and the like. It is typically uncommon or rare to spot members of the tertiary races in civilized locales.

Character Advancement

Milestone Advancement
There will be no Experience Points (EXP) for this game. The characters will just be advanced in level at certain stages or milestones in the story.

Long Rest Required
Once a character becomes eligible for advancement to a higher level, s/he will need to complete a Long Rest before the advancement is truly applied.