Quick questions and answers - Page 1320 - Myth-Weavers


Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.


Quick questions and answers

   
D&D in general; do you suppose that dwarves wear horned helmets to protect themselves from darkmantles that drop from the ceiling?

Dnd 5e

The instant applications of prestidigitation last where appropriate right? Or do they fade after the 1 hour mark? ex: Soiling / cleaning

It says instantaneous, but obviously the object must stay clean or dirty for at least some time or there would be no point. I believe the general rule for spells is still that the effects of instant duration spells last until naturally undone, they do not magically fade away nor can they be dispelled. So the fire stays lit until it burns out, a snuffed torch must be relit, the shirt is clean until the next spill, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothmar View Post
Pathfinder

Create demiplane greater - will the 'Morphic' aspect work if you also make the demiplane 'dead magic'?

Also can creatures like dragons (stuff too big for smallish portal) change into other forms in a dead magic demiplane? or does it depend on the type of transformation?
Well lets look at a

Things this Bronze Dragon can't do in a
Dead Magic
These planes have no magic at all. A plane with the dead magic trait functions in all respects like an antimagic field spell. Divination spells cannot detect subjects within a dead magic plane, nor can a spellcaster use teleport or another spell to move in or out. The only exception to the “no magic” rule is permanent planar portals, which still function normally.
Dead Magic Zone: alternate form, breath weapon, spell-like-abilities, casting (if any)... but hey, it still has Water Breathing and is a dragon of the appropriate size.

D&D/Pathfinder again: Assuming you can Plane Shift into a Bag of Holding (assuming you have the right kind of attuned rod to get into it, and that you can shift into demiplanes), what happens if you take a Bag of Holding inside itself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avaday Daydream View Post
D&D/Pathfinder again: Assuming you can Plane Shift into a Bag of Holding (assuming you have the right kind of attuned rod to get into it, and that you can shift into demiplanes), what happens if you take a Bag of Holding inside itself?
As far as I know, there is no RAW to handle this scenario.

As GM, I would rule that the Bag of Holding has been transported into an 'extradimensional space that has been created by a Bag of Holding or similar item'. This will then trigger the Bag's destruction and the opening of a gate to the Astral Plane.

3.5

Resist Energy question (again): a caster hits himself with two castings of Resist Energy for 2 different energy types (say fire & cold). Would the 2nd casting override the other or would the caster have resistance to both energy types for the duration?

3.5

Resist Energy question (again): a caster hits himself with two castings of Resist Energy for 2 different energy types (say fire & cold). Would the 2nd casting override the other or would the caster have resistance to both energy types for the duration?

Ambiguous. I was always under the impression that it wouldn't, because of the Combining Magical Effects rules - in particular:
"Same Effect with Differing Results
The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

However it could be taken that this is meant only to mean stuff like, if you cast Resist Energy (Fire) on yourself and then Resist Energy (Fire) again well, obviously, they do the same thing, so that's only useful in case one (but not the other) gets dispelled. It's not 100% clear what the intent is here (eh, is it ever?).








Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Last Database Backup 2019-02-19 09:00:09am local time
Myth-Weavers Status