General Discussion

All-purpose section for discussions that donít clearly belong in any of the other categories.

!_! Need Fedora Linux Wireless Card Help !_!

!_! Need Fedora Linux Wireless Card Help !_!

Right off the bat I will admit I am new to Linux and Fedora.

I just purchased the Linux/Fedora Compatible Edimax EW-7128g Wireless Card for my new pc.

We installed the wireless card, and to our relief it was instantly recognized by Network Manager as wlan0. Now though we continue to get an error telling us it is unable to retrieve IP Address when I attempt to activate the device.

The kicker is that I am able to activate and get the lights on the back of the card to light up when I change the option of retrieving the IP automatically to a static one, even if the static one is complete garbage or the local host IP. Even when I do this I am regrettably unable to connect.

Our router is using WEP encryption, just for the record and we haven't yet tried to connect with it disabled.

I am using a fresh install of Fedora 9 that was installed and set up on a custom computer that I just ordered. I did a wlan0 scan and used the lspci commands as suggested in the fedora forums and it was able to find my ESSID :/ so I am at a standstill, it is 1am, and I am very very sleepy....

# lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)