General One-Roll Engine discussion - OG Myth-Weavers

Notices

Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

General One-Roll Engine discussion

General One-Roll Engine discussion

So yeah, I am a fan of the so called One-Roll Engine, O.R.E. for short, but I am still fairly new to it. So I was wondering if there is anyone on here with more experience, what are some things to avoid, what can and can not be done with it, how does balance work, what is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow, and all those things.

Also, how can we get more people interested in it. As it stands, in my opinion at least, it's a beautiful niche system that deserves more love. I am already very glad that we can play it efficiently with the Sort Function in the Dice String, already saves a ton of time and all, but there is always room towards the top. More concretely, how to engage new players, what do they seem to have issues with, how to make it enjoyable for them, how to explain it?

I've played and run most of the games associated with it, including a crapton of Monsters and Other Childish Things.

Quote:
Some things to avoid:
Depends on the system. Things off the top of my head include hard-dice-using attack powers and cheesy hyperskills in Wild Talents, and too much Tough or Splash (on PCs -or- NPC enemies) in Monsters and Other Childish Things.

Quote:
What can and can not be done with it: