Noob questions about 2e - Myth-Weavers

Notices

Gaming Discussion

For all things gaming related.

Noob questions about 2e

Noob questions about 2e

Hi, I have been role-playing for seven or eight years now and have played systems from WOD to 3.5 pathfinder 4e and other custom built role-playing systems that friends have made or i have play tested. My problem lies with 2e. The only gaming group near me that i can find right now is playing 2e which would not be a problem but i am having trouble finding out how to actually build a character. In a lot of the systems i have played it is very easy to build a character. Its what the books start you out with, You have this many hit die, you roll for this, you pick from a list of these things, ect boom done. 2e tells you about what characters have and there bonuses without... Telling you about what that means to you.

Ultimately i just want to join this game and learn a new system so i just need some help making a 7th level fighter or rogue.

2e is simple stuff. Not laid out like a text book, but simple. Where are you stuck or confused and there are plenty of us who can help you out.

You should think yourself blessed to find a group who plays 2e! My own favorite, personally, though I prefer the lower level stuff. At 7th level, you're only a few away from challenging the divines!

Basically, figure out how they're rolling their stats (my own group did 4d6 drop the lowest), choose a race and class you want to be, pick a kit from one of the Complete Book of ___________ if the group is using kits, roll your starting gold, pick your weapon proficiencies and non-weapon proficiencies, buy your gear, and hop on in!

If just PHB and the Completes, things are pretty simple. What do you want to know?