Thoughts on Rolling All Dice for Players - Myth-Weavers

GM Workshop

A community-created and maintained place for Game Masters of all systems to bounce ideas around. It's a place for inspiration and sharing tips.

Thoughts on Rolling All Dice for Players

Thoughts on Rolling All Dice for Players

Hi all,

I am relatively new to these parts, and I am thinking of trying to get a campaign going. I have not done much PbP before, but from just about everything I've read, it seems that losing momentum is a common problem, and it most frequently rears its head with combat. To try to keep a game going at a reasonable clip, I was thinking of suggesting in my campaign that I would roll all dice, and also that I would do this outside of posts. I have no interest in trying to cheat players or TPKs, but I think it would be a lot faster for me to simply roll initiative on a die, tell players the order, get their actions (simultaneously for all players), roll everything, type out what happens, then go to the next round. Plus, to be up front, I would fudge the occasional die roll to be in the player's favor or to speed the game along (we don't need another round of combat if Harry the Kobold is clinging to 1 hp). I'd be clear to the players on this point. Again, I'm not trying to wipe the PCs out or be duplicitous; it just seems this could help keep the game moving more quickly.

I'd plan to do more or less the same thing outside of combat as well, again to keep the game moving.

I am wondering if this style is frowned upon, or if it's okay as long as you're up front about it. I suppose another option is to do more or less the same thing but show all die rolls to players, but you seem to lose the abiilty to fudge things every once in a while, and therefore you could end up with a dead party.

Thanks to all for reading and considering. Apologies if this has been debated ad nauseam before. I did find an old thread about it, but thought I would canvas current opinions.

Cheers!