Player Expectations and GM Details

About Me: I've been a Myth-Weaver resident for 10 years now, first as someone who just used it to store sheets, and then as a player, then finally as a GM. In my time as a GM, I've faced all the usual problems of railroading, being responsive to players, keeping the story going, knowing when certain storyline ideas aren't feasible, and leaving things open-ended enough to help the players gain a sense of ownership and excitement for the plot. This has come with its fair share of lumps, hard knocks, and in some cases, burnout and estrangement. I would like to think I have wisdom enough to acknowledge my mistakes and do better in the future. So, here is a short list of what you can expect from me, as your GM.

My Promises
  • I will post at least twice a week. Myth-Weavers is a play by post website. Games live and die based on how active they are; a game without any new posts withers and dies from a lack of attention.
  • If there is something that will interfere with my posting rate, I will let you know about it. I'm not prone to major illness or injury, I don't have any sick kids to take care of, and my schedule's pretty static. But holidays and family emergencies can and may happen, and I will let you know about it. A lack of communication is another major contributor to game dissolution. The worst case scenario, you end up getting a lot more phone posts from me in non-combat scenarios, which will leave you without all that fancy formatting and text colors I'm used to using.
  • I will provide the framework of the world; You are welcome to flesh it out. And by this I mean, make NPCs if they're relevant to your backstories. Give me plot hooks for your characters to use, so you have a sense of ownership. D&D is a cooperative, team game; you all win or you all lose. The same is true for storytelling. The story is better when we have a sharing of ideas and a sense of give and take.