Do PBTA games work with PbP?

silentfanbrother

I've only played a small amount of Powered by the Apocalypse games, but they count among some of the hands-down best games I've ever played, PbP or not.

I'm no expert by any means, but I am currently running a game of Star Worlds as a one-shot. It's had ups and downs and lost a couple of players along the way, but I think I'm (finally) hitting my stride with the system's give-and-take mentality. It takes a lot to switch gears from many other RPGs to PbtA, but I think it's well worth it!

If you're interested in Star Wars, my Star Worlds game is a hack of World of Dungeons (which hacks Dungeon World). You can see how it functions on PbP and make your own judgements :)

6 hours ago, silentfanbrother said:

I want to really get into games that are based on PBTA systems like the City of Mists, MASKS, Avatar Legends etc. They seem really fun but I never could get into how the system works or how it will interact with PbP

To summarize up top, PbtA games suffer the same kinds of problems that all RPGs suffer in PbP gaming but may suffer from some of the problems more acutely, depending on the individual game. The player-forward and bare bones nature of the rules, however, could be an advantage in PbP with the right players.

The long version: I think they do work fine, in theory, but only so long at the GM is flexible and the players are both active and proactive. And I think the PbtA games you'll find on MWers that are moving along quite well do so 1) because their GMs have adapted them (by filing down a bunch of the edges, metaphorically speaking) to make them work in the sub-optimal environment of PbP and/or 2) because everyone in the game is using some other non-PbP medium (like Discord or text messages) to compensate for the inherent problems of gaming "by post."