Write Right with Nighteyes

Hello!

For those of you who don't know me, I've been rping for a very long time and writing for longer. I'm a professional author with novels, novellas, and short stories published. I've done developmental and editing work, as well as navigated the world of publishing since it got shaken up when the Kindle dropped.

I study story structure and writing for fun.

In my free time.

All this to say, one of my great loves is talking about stories and writing from a practically creative viewpoint. I'd like to extend my invitation to all of our players (our readers can also jump in, and if I have time, I'll get to them as well) to engage with me however pleases you. This can be asking questions about writing, asking for information, or asking for a critique or review of a work you've done. Heck, if you want, you can even pull your game post and ask for feedback!

I am straight-forward and honest in my thoughts, but I do not believe that there is One True Way To Write (And That's My Way), and I'm kind in my delivery of said feedback. Or, well, kindness and true helpfulness is my goal. If, or when, I stumble, I will welcome correction.

On that note, I will require the same standards of everyone who engages in this thread. I don't have much patience for gatekeeping the art of writing, and we all have to start somewhere. So come with an open mind and a generosity of spirit, please, and please pay attention to if you're responding to something while feeling defensive as that's rarely when we are our best selves.

And if this doesn't appeal to you, truly, that's more than alright. I just thought I'd make a place where people can go to talk about things I love cause I'm selfish like that. ^_^