LCGs and Solo Board Games

cailano

Okay, my Marvel Champions LCG thread got limited responses, but what about LCGs in general? Lord of the Rings, Arkham Horror... are there others?

I can't be the only one on Myth Weavers playing these.

What about Solo Board Games? Gloomhaven? Mage Knight?

Here's a thread for hyping up your favorite solo and co-op games.

Okay, fine, I'll start.

So, I'm kind of new to solo games. I enjoy them more than solo RPGs, although I would love to find a good fantasy card game with better character advancement.

Here are the solo games I've tried and my thoughts on them.

Marvel Champions

This has been my favorite so far. It's an easy game to set up and take down, especially if you spring for one of the box organizers you can get on Amazon. There is a lot of content, including new heroes, new scenarios, and even entire campaigns. The deck-building elements in the game are fairly shallow but you can build most heroes in a variety of ways and you can play multiple heroes at once, which creates some fun combinations. Play sessions take about 30 - 60 minutes, which is perfect for me on most days.

Marvel Champions can also be played as a multi-player co-op game and I've been trying to get my kids into it, but the learning curve is a little steep.

One Deck Dungeon

This is a super-casual dice-chucking game but it has a fun art style and a good dungeon-crawl feel to it. I have an expansion but I haven't played it. The best accessory I bought for the game was a custom play mat that helps keep everything organized on the table.

The basic idea is that you take your hero or pair of heroes and crawl through three levels of a dungeon, the rooms of which are represented by cards. The dungeons can seem repetitive because the whole game comes in one deck.

A boss is at the end of each dungeon, and the boss battles can be very challenging.