Sheet Folders in Testing ×

My Word Has Everything Changed

Alterangel

I'm not exactly a newcomer here, but I might as well be! I used to be an active member of the Weave six or seven years ago, but it's like entering a whole new world now! I like the new layout, and it seems much more user friendly. However...

I'm looking for my past posts to copy some of my application formats. Yet, I can't seem to find my post history on my profile.

Did that get deleted amongst all the new updates?

Anything big I should know about all the changes to the site in the last 5 years?

I'm not sure what you mean, unfortunately. With the "source" button you can access the HTML directly, which is a great feature, but I think some of the old BB codes don't work anymore. That's not official word, though. I'm a developer, but not a Myth-Weavers developer.

45 minutes ago, Alterangel said:

Does the old coding still work with this site? Can I copy/past an old application format and it still work.

Unfortunately, the architecture of the sites is so different that it's not possible to simply C+P old posts over and retain all formatting. However, there is a handy set of migration steps in the User Guide: https://www.myth-weavers.com/index.php?/articles.html/articles/myth-weavers-user-guide-r9/#Migration+Guide++Original+MW+to+Baldr+

Also, Eric has stated that there's no plans to shut down the old site - it'll remain read-only in perpetuity, so rather than migrating everything across, you could still simply link to old posts (handy if you've got loads of worldbuilding/lore in posts on OGMW and don't want to have to move it all across).

4 hours ago, Alterangel said:

Does the old coding still work with this site? Can I copy/past an old application format and it still work.

There's a BBCode option that allows using the OGMW code here. It works well most of the time, but it has some limitations also.

22 hours ago, Alterangel said: